The Authority

The Monterey Peninsula Regional Water Authority (MPRWA) is a Joint Power Authority (JPA) created in 2012 to find a solution to the Peninsula Water Shortage caused by the over drafting of the Carmel River.

The Authority consists of six Peninsula cities: Carmel-by-the-Sea, Del Rey Oaks, Monterey, Pacific Grove, Sand City and Seaside, with Monterey County participating on the Governance Committee. The agency is a lean organization made up of a Board of Directors, a Technical Advisory Committee, Executive Director, Legal Counsel and Clerk.

If you wish to contact any member of the Authority, please contact Nova Romero, Authority Clerk at 831.646-1564 or

The Principal office of the Authority is located at:
City of Monterey, 580 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940.